xikka

A collection of things I have made and things I find interesting.


Black Magic in Wodka

Friday, 30th October 2020 ◆ Enchantress's western desire (5)

Halloween is almost upon us, and we have two special events in Wodka with which to celebrate.

Spooktacular

The first Wodka tournament in September was a lot of fun, so we're running another one!

Date: 31st October 2020
Time: 18:00 GMT / 19:00 CET / 14:00 ET
Where: https://www.twitch.tv/wodkastrategy

I am pleased to note that I myself am among the invitees this time. Joining me will be tann, sontrax and Almouse.

This time it's hosted by the top two ranked players in the world: Jack and Pawntoe4, so expect some detailed commentary. The stream will also include a view of all players' hands simultaneously, making the game easier to follow.

Black Magic

Secondly, a third set of specials has arrived to Wodka: Black Magic.

No surprises to see who has placed a Grand Wodka

I wanted to do something a bit different for this set. Instead of each card having an ability, playing with the Black specials introduces spells and mana to the game.

There are currently 12 spells the game:

There are 13 spells to mirror the fact that there would have been 13 specials were this a normal suit.

Three of these spells are lifted from existing cards (Red Queen, Red eight and Red three), whilst the other ten spells are unique to Black Magic. I will be looking for alternatives to these spells to make Black Magic completely unique.

There is no doubt this list will need some balancing... but for now it is appearing to be great fun! In fact, I think this mechanic could have worked as a game by itself, rather than tacked onto the game of Wodka.

Comments

There are no comments yet.